Defining the Future, Rethinking the Past

The XVIII conference of the International Association of Women Philosophers (IAPh) at Paderborn University

For more than 40 years, the International Association of Women Philosophers (IAPh) has been a decisive organisation in encouraging and promoting women’s research in philosophy and its history. Founded in Germany in the 1970s, it is now a global network for all women who work in philosophy. Given its strong tradition, IAPh covers all philosophical disciplines, feminist philosophy as well as the history of women philosophers.

The slogan of our 2019 conference encourages special contributions in the fields of philosophy of economics and technology to visualize the ideas women philosophers develop to shape and advance the challenging questions of the future. Focal themes of IAPh 2020 will be economy, technology, ecology, and the history of philosophy.

Updated information coming soon – please visit:

The IAPh Board 2018-2020: Chris Sanchez, Madrid ES; Mary Ellen Waithe, Cleveland/Washington US; Xiao Wei, Beijing CH; Karen Green, Melbourne AUS; Heisook Kim, Seoul KR; Christina Schues, Lübeck GER; Cintia Martinez Velasco, Mexico City MX; Martina Reuter, Iväskala FN; Ruth Hagengruber, Paderborn GER.

Looking forward to seeing you in Paderborn!

Organizers: Ruth Hagengruber, Janelle Pötzsch and Jessica Harmening, Paderborn University, Philosophy.

Prof. Dr. Ruth Hagengruber

Universität Paderborn, Warburger Str. 100

Further Information and CfP (PDF)